New Restrictions on Visa Waiver Program | Immigration Visa

On January 21, 2016, the United States put New Restrictions on Visa Waiver Program (VWP). Specifically, Nationals of VWP countries who have traveled to or been present in Iran, Iraq, Sudan, or Syria on or after March 1, 2011, cannot participate in the United States’ Visa Waiver Program. Also, nationals of VWP countries who are also nationals of Iran, Iraq, Sudan, or Syria will not be able to participate even if they have neither visited nor been present in said countries.

Limited exceptions are available for individuals traveling on behalf of international organizations, regional organizations and subnational governments on official duty; who are there on behalf of a humanitarian NGO on official duty; or are journalists traveling for reporting purposes.

Individuals subject to the above restrictions may still seek a visa through consular processing at their local U.S. Embassy or Consulate.

The 38 current VWP participants are: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finaland, France, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Republic of Kora, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan and United Kingdom.

Share this: